Daily Archives: August 1, 2008

Review: Lagunitas Censored (Kronik)

An American Strong Ale brewed by
Lagunitas Brewing Company

Petaluma, California USA

A cooper pour into the pint glass as you could imagine. A small head that fades very quickly. A malty sugar like aroma and taste on the tongue at first. I am not pulling too much Carmel out of it as they suggest. I guess it is ’censored’. Slightly bitter but very smooth and slightly creamy. A good red ale but not the best.

My ratebeer.com score: 2.9

Reviews: Allagash Dubbel Reserve

An Abbey Dubbel brewed by
Allagash Brewing Company

Portland, Maine USA

Pours a very nice dark brown with a big head. I would say the head is about two fingers, creamy and tan. Be sure to pour slowly. Nice aroma with a bit of nut and dry fruit coming through. The taste was quite satisfying and I was very impressed by Allagash’s effort. A little light in body. Better as it warmed a little as the full flavor and aroma really came out. Again, I was very impressed with this effort. The flavor was a bit nutty and carmel like. I feel the Ommegang Abbey Ale is just a bit better version of this Belgian classic, though by the numbers I rated them exactly the same.

My ratebeer.com score: 3.8

Review: Great Divide Wild Raspberry Ale

A Fruit Beer brewed by
Great Divide Brewing Company

Denver, Colorado USA

A nice looking bronze color ale but with very little head. The aroma is mostly berries with a slight malt backbone coming through. On first taste you get hit hard with the berries that never fully fades. At the very end it gets a bit dry just like if you had a raspberry. If they were going for a raspberry beer then they hit it close to on the nose. Just wasn’t for me. For style it hit on everything but the palate.

My ratebeer.com score: 2.9