Review(s): Magic Hat election/fall releases

Participation Lager

A Pilsener brewed by
Magic Hat Brewing Company

South Burlington, Vermont USA

ABV: 5%

Glassware: Pilsner

This was certainly a pilsner. I was tricked into thinking I was pouring a lager but it was clear that it was a pilsner on pour. It is a bright yellow with a nice head and good carbonation. It was a good looking pilsner. It has a heavy malt aroma. It tastes hopper then I would have thought from the aroma. I think when some people rank on here they are not looking at style. This was a pretty good pilsner. Not great but pretty darn good. A well balanced pilsner. (This beer is not out yet.)

BeerAdvocate.com suggested food pairings: Cuisine (Barbecue, Italian) Cheese (earthy; Camembert, Fontina) Meat (Pork, Poultry, Fish, Shellfish)

My ratebeer.com score: 3

Magic Hat Jinx

A Smoked brewed by
Magic Hat Brewing Company

South Burlington, Vermont USA

ABV: 6.9%

Glassware: Pint glass

Had from the bottle and poured into a pint glass. It is a hazy amber color with a nice big head. This brew smells very sweet and fruity. The sweetness had me thinking this was more of a brown then a smoked but what do I know. It was nice and smooth on the palate but again, just a but too sweet. I felt it to me a nice fall beer though. Very enjoyable.

BeerAdvocate.com suggested food pairings: Cheese (buttery; Brie, Gouda, Havarti, Swiss) Meat (Smoked Meat, Salmon)

My ratebeer.com score: 3.2

Leave a Reply

