Daily Archives: August 30, 2008

Review: Pumpkin series (Pt. II) – Saranac Pumpkin Ale

A Spice/Herb/Vegetable brewed by
Matt Brewing Company

Utica, New York USA

ABV: 5.4%

Glassware: Pint Glass

This pours a ruby or amber color with a very small head. It smells like powdered cinnamon. It tastes of vanilla and spice and cinnamon. It is OK but not good. As it warms it does start to get a bit better but then again I think most beers do.

My ratebeer.com score: 2.9

Review: Pumpkin Series (Pt. I) – Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale

Editor’s Note: If my stomach can handle it I hope to review as many pumpkin ale’s as possible before Halloween. I have about three in the bank now that I will be posting soon. This is the first.

A Spice/Herb/Vegetable brewed by
Smuttynose Brewing Company

Portsmouth, New Hampshire USA

ABV: 5%

Glassware: Pint Glass

I normally love all Smuttynose but this one just missed the mark. It smelled like pumpkin and spices. The taste is where it looses me. I normally like a good pumpkin ale but this tastes like you were eating dried spices – literally. It felt like I had herbs and spices in my mouth that I was chewing. maybe I had a bad one? I’’ll have to go back to this.

Ratebeer.com score: 2.1