Offbeat: What makes a great pub?

There is a great chat going on across the pond on The Guardian online – one of my favorite publications – regarding what make a great pub.

Check it out.

I just love the English sensibility and smarts. Here is one comment I enjoyed:

George Orwell’s idea of the perfect pub involved draft stout – which he lamented was rare in the 1940s – and pewter drinking pots. He was also firmly anti-music. I think a decent jukebox stacked with classic greatest hits played at a respectful level a must, myself.

Leave a Reply

