Review: North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

An Imperial Stout brewed by
North Coast Brewing Company

Fort Bragg, California USA

ABV: 9%

Why I am drinking this in the early fall is a mystery but I couldn’t help myself. This beer pours as dark as night, even the head is tinted brown. Cold: an aroma of chocolate, coffee and licorice hit you over the head hard. As it warms and sits for a bit the aromas, as well as the flavors, really start to pan out. This is a really hardy drinker. I had a very bitter taste on my tongue for parts of this. Flavor is caramel and toffee sweetness up front that fades into a slight coffee finish. It was a great beer but not the best stout I have had.

Beer Advocate food pairings: General (Chocolate, Dessert, Digestive)

My ratebeer.com score: 4%

3 responses to “Review: North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

  1. Pingback: Alcohol Posts » Review: North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

  2. If this is not the best Stout you have had can you share with us what is better? Old Rasputin is a great Stout.

    I would be interested in knowing what could be truly’better’ …

  3. I agree with Guy, I don’t know too many stouts that are much better. Perhaps since this was a Russian IMPERIAL Stout it was too much beer for you to handle.

Leave a Reply

