Review: Magic Hat Odd Notion (Winter 08)

A Spice/Herb/Vegetable brewed by
Magic Hat Brewing Company

South Burlington, Vermont USA

Glassware: Pint glass

ABV: 6%

Magic Hat was nice enough to send this one out to me this week. This beer pours a cloudy orange with a small and quickly fading head. On first wif I get a lot of honey and some sweet but dried fruits. On first taste I was surprised by the bitterness and happy with the completeness. It is odd because it does start bitter but ends slightly sweet. It was a mediumed bodied beer that stuck around for a bit after tasting. I felt this was a nice late fall beer but wouldn’t be in my normal winter diet. It is a good beer and I wouldn’t mind having a few more.

Beer Advocate food pairing suggestions: Cheese (buttery; Brie, Gouda, Havarti, Swiss, pungent; Gorgonzola, Limburger) General (Dessert, Digestive) Meat (Game)

My ratebeer.com score: 3.2

Leave a Reply

